HISTORICAL MILESTONES OF THE ROYAL BELGIAN SWIMMING FEDERATION

- 1900 National Team Men's Water polo Silver medal at Olympic Games in Paris.
- 1902 Foundation of Royal Belgian Swimming Federation by 7 swimming associations.
- 1903 Fernand Feyaerts 1st official Belgian Champion swimming (100m free style).
- **1908** Foundation of FINA (Fédération Internationale de Natation International Swimming Federation) in London by 10 countries, including Belgium.
- 1908 National Team Men's Water polo Silver medal at Olympic Games in London.
- 1912 National Team Men's Water polo Bronze medal at Olympic Games in Stockholm.
- 1920 National Team Men's Water polo Silver medal at Olympic Games in Antwerp.
- 1920 Gérard Blitz Bronze medal 100 M Backstroke at Olympic Games in Antwerp.
- 1924 National Team Men's Water polo Silver medal at Olympic Games in Paris.
- 1924 Joseph De Combé Silver medal 200 M Breaststroke at Olympic Games in Paris.
- 1926 René De Raeve General Secretary Royal Belgian Swimming Federation until 1968 and co-founder of LEN (Ligue Européenne de Natation European Swimming Federation).
- 1936 National Team Men's Water polo Bronze medal at Olympic Games in Berlin.
- 1948 René De Raeve President of FINA until 1952.
- 1950 René De Raeve President of LEN until 1954.
- **1977** Scission of Royal Belgian Swimming Federation and foundation of 2 regional swimming federations (Vlaamse Zwemfederatie & Féd. Francophone Belge Natation).
- 1984 Ingrid Lempereur Bronze medal 200 M Breaststroke at Olympic Games in Los Angeles.
- 1991 1st Organisation of European Junior Swimming Championships in Antwerp.
- 1995 Brigitte Becue European Champion 100 M and 200 M Breaststroke.
- 1995 Frederik Deburghgraeve European Champion 100 M Breaststroke.
- 1996 Frederik Deburghgraeve Olympic Champion 100 M Breaststroke at Olympic Games in Atlanta and World Record holder 100 M Breaststroke.
- 1998 Frederik Deburghgraeve World Champion 100 M Breaststroke in Perth.
- 1998 2nd Organisation of European Junior Swimming Championships in Antwerp.
- 2001 1st Organisation of European Short Course Swimming Championships in Antwerp.
- 2002 Celebration of 100th anniversary of the Royal Belgian Swimming Federation.
- **2007** 3rd Organisation of European Junior Swimming Championships in Antwerp and 1st Organisation of Annual European LEN Congress in Brussels.
- 2008 Frederik Deburghgraeve Honoree of The International Swimming Hall of Fame.
- **2012** 4th Organisation of European Junior Swimming Championships in Antwerp.
- **2016** Pieter Timmers Silver medal 100M Free at the Olympic Games in Rio De Janeiro.